Seven days a week 10:00 - 22:00

+7 (966) 381-38-38

booking department


Useful information for tourists

An inexperienced tourist may find it difficult to understand all the subtleties and nuances concerning living in another city. This section will be a real catch, both for experienced travelers and for beginners. Readers will learn a lot of new things that will help them to save family budget, get acquainted with sights of the capital, dine in luxurious restaurants and small cozy cafes, and also visit a lot of unusual, interesting, amazing and even mysterious places.

The device of Moscow: administrative districts and districts

Over the long years of its history, the structure of Moscow has changed several times. Renamed streets and courtyards, Posada and craft centers were replaced by expensive houses, areas expanded, merged and rebuilt. Many architectural monuments destroyed the war, and not all were restored. The modern capital is a large single mechanism, every detail of which works like a clock.

The history of the modern territorial division of the capital

The final change in the territorial structure of the capital occurred in 1991. Certain territories were assigned the status of administrative districts. This separation is determined by the Charter of the city of Moscow and the acts of the City Hall and the Government.

The last expansion of the borders of the capital of the Russian Federation was made in 2012. Then a number of lands, territorially related to the Moscow region, were annexed to Moscow. So the capital began to include two new administrative districts - Novomoskovsky and Troitsky, which, in turn, included 21 settlements.

Administrative districts

In Moscow today there are 12 administrative districts, each of which includes several districts or settlements:

  1. Central District. The Central Administrative District is the cultural and historical center of the capital, which includes the most iconic areas - Tagansky, Basmanny, Arbat, Yakimanka, Tverskaya and so on. Also in the territory of the central autonomous region Zamoskvorechye is located. 770,588 thousand people live in the Central Administrative District. Famous theaters, the Pushkin Museum and the Tretyakov Gallery, the restored Cathedral of Christ the Savior and many other religious and cultural attractions are located on the territory of the administrative district.
  2. Northern District. It includes the following well-known areas: Sokol, Airport, Khovrino, Voykovsky, Golovinsky, Dmitrovsky and so on. 1,187,000 people live on the territory of the CAO. Through its territory passes 7 highway. Quite a large part of the district is occupied by manufacturing enterprises - sewing, meat processing, concrete.
  3. Northeast district. NEAD includes Rostokino, Sviblovo, Medvedkovo, Butyrsky District, and so on. This district is inhabited by about 1,500,000 people. Through its territory passes 5 transport lines. Among the attractions of the North-East Administrative District, we can highlight the Ostankino Tower, the New Drama Theater and the Main Botanical Garden of the Russian Academy of Sciences.
  4. Eastern District. Novogireevo, Novokosino, Veshnyaki, Sokolniki, Perovo, Preobrazhenskoye - not all areas included in the HLW. On its territory live 1 515 942 people. The main attractions of the district are the famous parks - Sokolniki and Izmailovsky, the stadiums “Locomotive” and “Ray”, the famous Old Believers Preobrazhensky cemetery.
  5. Southeast District. The SEAD includes 12 districts, including Kuzminki, Tekstilshchiki, Nekrasovka, Lyublino, Kapotnya. The population of the area is 1,450,600 people. On the territory of the district there is a famous Kuzminsky Park, Nikolo-Perervinsky Monastery and other natural and cultural attractions.
  6. Southern District. The SAD includes Biryulyovo, Orekhovo-Borisovo, Chertanovo, Tsaritsyno and other areas. The population of the district is 1,785,343 people. On the territory of SAD there is a temple of the Icon of the Mother of God, Kolomenskoye estate and a number of other attractions.
  7. Southwestern District. Yasenevo, Butovo, Konkovo, Cheryomushki and other areas of the capital are part of the South-Western Administrative Okrug. 1,437,232 people make up the county population. On its territory there are 3 Compound and 15 operating temples, parks and squares.
  8. Western District. The company includes Novo-Peredelkino, Ochakovo-Matveevskoe, Prospekt Vernadskogo, Ramenki, Solntsevo, Troparyovo-Nikulino, Filevsky Park and several other areas. The population of the district is 1 382 516 people. On its territory there are Filevsky and Troparevsky parks, Orthodox churches, as well as a mosque and a synagogue.
  9. North-West District. Includes Kurkino, Mitino, Horoshevo-Mnevniki and a number of other areas. The county is inhabited by 1,001 346 people. On its territory there are 21 temples and 9 chapels, parks and squares and other attractions.
  10. Zelenograd district. One of the smallest districts of the capital includes Matushkino, Savyolki, Old Kryukovo, Silino, Kryukovo. The population of the district is 34,543 people. On its territory there is a complex of archaeological monuments Kovrovo.

New administrative districts and settlements

There are two more districts in Moscow that were annexed to the capital in 2012. We are talking about the Novomoskovsk administrative district, which includes Vnukovo, Shcherbinka, Moscow, Marushkinskoe and several other settlements. The population of the district is 234,226 people.

In 2012, the Troitsky administrative district was included into Moscow, including 10 settlements, including the famous Troitsk, Pervomaisky, Kiev and Klenovsky. The population of the Trinity district has 124 647 people.